The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott

The Hurricane

Ok, so here it goes…. My first book review!

I’m going to start my reviews by giving a little info about the author and book, the official book description, and then my review. I won’t post spoilers. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think 🙂

This was the debut book by R.J.Prescott. It was published in Feb of 2015 and was nominated for Best Debut Goodreads Author 2015. It’s got a 4.12 star rating right now, which isn’t too shabby for her first book.

Goodreads Book Description: 

“Emily McCarthy is living in fear of a dark and dangerous past. A gifted mathematician, she is little more than a hollow, broken shell, trying desperately to make ends meet long enough to finish her degree.

Through an unlikely friendship with the aging, cantankerous owner of an old boxing gym, Em is thrown into the path of the most dangerous man that she has ever met.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell is cut, tattooed and dangerous. He is a lethal weapon with no safety and everyone is waiting for the mis-fire. He’s never been knocked out before, but when he meet Em he falls, HARD. Unlike any other girl he’s ever met, she doesn’t want anything from him. Just being around her makes him want to be a better person.

They are polar opposites who were never meant to find each other, but some things are just worth the fight.

***Warning*** This book contains adult language and subject matter, including some flashback scenes of abuse and rape, that may be disturbing for some readers. This book is not intended for readers under the age of 18. “

My review:

I really enjoyed this book. I’m a sucker for a good fighter romance and this completely delivered. I fell in love with her characters and she had a nice writing style. It was written in Emily’s point of view, but the prologue and epilogue are written from Cons POV.

Emily was a girl running from her dark past and just wanted to start her life over. She made herself invisible for fear of the past catching up to her. In walks Cormac (or Con as he’s called in the book) and he turns her life upside down.

From the beginning of the book you know that Con wants Emily. In the prologue it kind of ticked me off because it starts off with Con just meeting her and he already knows he loves this girl, which is all fine and dandy, but WHY? What did she do to catch his attention, where the hell did he even meet her or see her before? It was kinda creepy too. Well….. We find out in the epilogue, so that made me happy that we finally get a reason for why this girl caught his eye in the first place and it’s really sweet and made me fall in love with Cons character even more.

I really didn’t start fully enjoying the book until after chapter 8, and then I couldn’t put it down. Just a warning, there are some graphic abuse scenes which could be a trigger to some. It’s also mature content, so yes there’s sex. ( I know right? Who can have a romance novel without sex?)

The sex scenes were cliché, especially the dialogue, but that’s pretty much almost every single romance book ever, however these were more pleasant and better written than some I have read. There are some just so bad I can’t even read through it because I want to vomit from how bad the dialogue is.

The book takes place in London England, but most of the characters are Irish. Danny (the old man that owns the gym) and Kierian (Cons best friend) were two of my favorite secondary characters. I loved the bond they all shared and how they all treated each other as family. Danny gives Emily the nickname “sunshine” which all the guys call her, but I kept wondering why he chose this name, and in a later scene we find out. That was the scene when I really fell in love with Danny’s character.

Overall I highly enjoyed the book and it would definitely be a re-read.

I give this book 4.5 stars.

Authors website: Rjprescott.com

Goodreads book page: The hurricane on goodreads

If you decide to give this book a try, the author has a bonus scene from Cons POV on her website to read right now, and she will be releasing another scene this year when her second book comes out in paperback.

Give it a try if you dare and let me know what you think. Would you read it?

Next book coming up…… The Aftermath by R.J. Prescott. It’s the continuation of Emily and Cons story.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

