The Aftermath by R. J. Prescott

The AftermathThis is the second book of The Hurricane series. It’s a continuation of Emily and O’Connells story. It was published on Dec 15th 2015 and currently has a 4.26 star rating on good reads.

Goodreads Book Description

“When you’ve got nothing, you’ve got nothing to lose. But what happens when you have everything you ever wanted? You fight to keep it.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell’s star is on the rise. Billed as the most promising young boxer of his generation, his new career is taking him to places he never dreamed. But O’Connell only needs one thing in life: his wife. In her final year of college, Em cannot follow him around the world but together they make it work.

Just when everything they ever wanted is on the horizon, the past resurfaces to haunt them and O’Connell realizes that justice might not be a part of his happy ever after.

He couldn’t protect Em once before, but in the aftermath of the hurricane, he will make sure that never happens again.”

My Review:

I fell in love with Em and Con in the first book, and the second book didn’t disappoint.

I really love the brotherly love between all the guys. We get to see more of Tommy, Kieran, and Liam. Let me tell you, there was one point in the book where I could not stop laughing, and all I will say is it’s during the paintball scene. That scene was priceless. We also get a mystery surrounding Liam and I’d really like to see him in more of the books to see how his story plays out. Hopefully R. J. Prescott will be coming out with stories for all the rest of the guys now, because I want more!!!! We also get introduced to a new character named Heath, who becomes O’Connells new manager.

This book had a lot of darker tones to it, and was just an emotional roller coaster. It didn’t have as many horrible flash backs like the first book, but Emily goes through so much emotional torment because of her step father, and Con is ripped apart because he doesn’t know what to do for her. There were a few times where I had to stop reading for a few minutes because I was so worried about what was going to happen next and I didn’t know if I wanted to know or not (of course I did, but the feels!!!! Ugh….. So many feels)

This was a great book and I loved how it ended. I can’t wait until she writes more books in this series. I really want to know about Liam and Kieran. So please R. J. write one of their stories next! 😉

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Goodreads book page: The Aftermath

Author Website: R J Prescott

So will you give this book a shot?

Next book up for review, Reclaiming the Sand by A. Meredith Walters.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

