Come to Me Softly by A. L. Jackson

come to me softlyThis is the second book in the Closer to You series. It was written in June 2014.

Goodreads Book Description

A second chance at life…
A second chance at love…

Jared Holt never thought he deserved either—until he found both in the arms of Aly Moore. Aly has loved Jared for as long as she can remember, and she’s more than ready for the future they’re making together. But Jared can’t help remembering his own family. And he’ll never forgive himself for what happened to them. How can he allow himself the very happiness he once destroyed?

To live a life worthy of Aly, Jared knows he has to stop running and finally put his past to rest. But when he decides to face his demons head on, he encounters more than he bargained for: a dangerous mix of jealousy, lies, and dishonest intentions. When those intentions threaten Aly, Jared loses all control, giving into the rage that earned him his bad boy reputation years before. And he’ll fight to protect her no matter what it costs…even if he destroys himself in the process.”

My Review

I tried to like this book as much as the first one, but I just couldn’t. I didn’t like the direction that the author took the characters in. It was a good story, and the writing style was good, but it’s just not where I thought the plot would be going.

This review is going to contain a small spoiler, because there really isn’t any way I can talk about this book without discussing “the baby”. Yes, Jarred and Aly have a baby.

At the end of the previous book Jared leaves Aly because he is still afraid to face his past, so he runs. He finally realizes that he needs Aly, and doesn’t want to live his life without her.

After Jared left Ally finds out that she is pregnant. This is the whole plot thing I really hated about this book. I just don’t understand why this had to be thrown into the mix. I think it would have been better to leave the baby plot until the epilogue, and allowed Jared and Aly to develop their relationship without that added bonus. It was just a cliche bad boy leaves girl pregnant girl but then comes back for her. I just didn’t see the characters going that way.

I really like how Jared made a home for him and Aly, and how much he put into creating a place for them. The ending was heartbreaking, and even though it was tragic, I really liked Jares backstory.

The book did keep me interested, and the writing was well done, but I just wasn’t sold on some of the plot, which is why my I gave it the rating I did.

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Gooreads Book Page: Come to Me Softly

Author Website: A. L. Jackson

So will you give this book a try?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

