Hallowed Ground by Rebecca Yarros

hallowed ground

This is the 4th and final book in the Flight and Glory series, and it was a total emotional rollercoaster! Rebecca Yarros has easily become one of my favorite romance authors!

Goodreads Book Description

“There are some debts you can’t repay.

Josh Walker is loyal, reckless, and every girl’s dream. But he only has eyes for December Howard, the girl he’s craved since his high school hockey days. Together they have survived grief, the military, distance, and time as they’ve fought for stolen weekends between his post at Ft. Rucker and her college at Vanderbilt. Now that Josh is a medevac pilot and Ember is headed toward graduation, they’re moving on—and in—together.

Ember never wanted the Army life, but loving Josh means accepting whatever the army dictates—even when that means saying goodbye as Josh heads to Afghanistan, a country that nearly killed him once before and that took her father. But filling their last days together with love, passion, and plans for their future doesn’t temper Ember’s fear, and if there’s one thing she’s learned from her father’s death, it’s that there are some obstacles even love can’t conquer.

Flight school is over.
This is war.”

My Review

WOW! This book just did me in. I was an emotional wreck while reading this one. In the first 2 pages it had me in tears and I was dreading things to come in the next chapters. (It started off present day and then the next chapters were from months prior)

This was the final book of the series and went back to the original books 2 characters, Josh and Ember. Josh is now out of flight school and is a Medevac pilot stationed at Fort Campbell, and Ember is about to graduate from Vanderbilt. They have just moved in together to start their lives after only being able to see each other every few weeks for the past few years. Everything seems great until Josh learns that he’s going to be deployed to Afghanistan.

This book totally ripped me apart!!!!! It had me crying, it made me anxious, I yelled at characters for being complete idiots (out loud by the way, thank goodness my husband wasn’t home to make fun of me for that one 😉 It was just a phenomenally emotional book, and like I have said on the last 3 reviews, Rebecca Yarros does an amazing job with characters, and I have fallen in love with them all.

The only thing I wish we had in this book were POVs from other characters besides Ember and Josh. We see a lot of Jagger and Paisley, and Will, but we don’t see as much of Grayson and Sam, which I found sad. I wish I had more closure with my other favorite characters I have gotten attached to throughout the series. I kind of wish she’d write another book with these characters but sadly this was the final book 😦 Maybe if her fans beg we can get her to write some short stories about them.

This entire series was excellent and completely worth the hours I spent reading it. Please give this series a try, because Rebecca Yarros creates the most wonderful characters that you will fall in love with!

My Rating: 5 EMOTIONAL STARS!!!!!!

Goodreads Book Page: Hallowed Ground

Author Website: Rebecca Yarros

You can buy this book from Amazon here Buy Hallowed Ground here

This entire series was amazing! I hope you won’t be disappointed, because this book blew me away! Let me know if you’d read the series or what you thought 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

