Combative by Jay McLean

Combative

This is a book from Jay McLean, one of my favorite new adult authors. She also wrote the More Than series, which was amazing! So I was really looking forward to this one. I applied to be an ARC reviewer for Redemptive and we were given an ARC of Combative if we hadn’t read it yet. I am very excited for the second book to come out in the next few weeks!

Goodreads Book Description

“We all play victims to our pasts; to the choices we make and the lives we create.
They define who we are.
And sometimes if we’re lucky enough, the past stays where it belongs: in the past.
I’m not one of the lucky ones.
I never have been.
Because now the past is knocking on my door, offering deals I have no choice but to take… deals that will help bring justice—not just for me, but for my brothers.

The problem?
The deal is a ticking time bomb.
One I didn’t know existed.

Tick.
Tock.”

My Review

This book was amazing! It kept me on my toes the whole time and I just wanted to know what was going on. So many questions left unanswered at the end! I want Redemptive NOW!!!!! lol

Kyler is an ex-military man that gets himself into a pretty bad fight where he almost kills the guy. When he thinks he’s about to go to jail, he is offered a deal to infiltrate an underground fighting ring to take down a drug king pin. He agrees to the deal and starts to go undercover by going to the fights and asking to become a fighter.

Madison is an enigma. She moves into the apartment next to Kyler, and she has some weird tendencies. She’s not a normal girl and you can’t help but to wonder who she really is, and what happened in her past.

Kyler and Madison start to hang out together more and more until they start a relationship. He starts to open up to her about his past, but she won’t give anything away about hers. (Which I think is totally unfair of her). More questions just kept piling up in my mind about her.

The further and further I got into this book the more I kept questioning and debating in my head about what could be the motives for some of these characters. It kept me thinking and guessing. THEN It left me on a cliffhanger!!!!!! @_@ BOO!!!!

So now I am waiting patiently for the release of Redemptive, which is coming out on March 8th! I hope it starts to answer the questions I have running through my head!

This book was awesome and I highly recommend it!

My Rating: 5 STARS!!!!!

Goodreads Book Page: Combative

Author Website: Jay McLean

You can buy this book from Amazon here: Buy Combative here!

Give this book a try, it really is amazing 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment