Roomhate by Penelope Ward

roomhate.jpg

I found this book through a facebook ad for the author. That’s actually how I’ve been finding a lot of my books lately, which is pretty awesome, because usually the facebook ads annoy the hell out of me. I guess I have been reading and liking author pages so much that facebook knows me too well now 😉

Goodreads Book Description

“Sharing a summer house with a hot-as-hell roommate should be a dream come true, right?

Not when it’s Justin…the only person I’d ever loved…who now hates me.

When my grandmother died and left me half of the house on Aquidneck Island, there was a catch: the other half would go to the boy she helped raise.

The same boy who turned into the teenager whose heart I broke years ago.

The same teenager who’s now a man with a hard body and a hardass personality to match.

I hadn’t seen him in years, and now we’re living together because neither one of us is willing to give up the house.

The worst part? He didn’t come alone.

I’d soon realize there’s a thin line between love and hate. I could see through that smug smile. Beneath it all…the boy is still there. So is our connection.

The problem is…now that I can’t have Justin, I’ve never wanted him more.”

My Review

This book actually turned into something I wasn’t expecting, but I totally enjoyed it. It was the first book I have ever read by Penelope Ward and I will definitely have to check out more books by her.

So Justin and Amelia were childhood best friends. Justins parents were never really there for him growing up, so Amelias grandma took him in and pretty much made him one of the family. Something happens and Amelia eventually moves away. 10 years later we find out that Justin and Amelia don’t talk to each other anymore and that Justin still hates her for what happened years ago.

When Amelias grandmother passes away she leaves her house to Justin and Amelia. Neither is willing to give up their half of the house so they reluctantly share the house over the summer. Justin moves in with his girlfriend Jade and the three of them share the house together. From the time he moves in you know Justin hasn’t forgiven Amelia for what happened when they were kids.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers for the rest of the book, so I will just say Amelia and Justin slowly reform their relationship. There is a BIG twist to the story that totally caught me off guard, but I actually really liked it. The ending of the book was super sweet.

All in all this was a great book and definitely on my re-read list. You should check it out 🙂

My Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads Book Page: Roomhate

 Author Website: Penelope Ward

You can buy this book from Amazon here: Buy Roomhate here

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

