Holding On Forever by Victoria Monroe

holding on forever

First off I’d like to say congratulations to Victoria Monroe on her debut book! I was excited to have been invited to participate in her book blog tour.

Goodreads Book Description

“When it comes to love, you can’t deny it no matter how hard you try. When love finds you, hold on and never let go.

Gage Scott let go of love a long time ago. After his parents divorced, he learned love only ends up hurting people. He vowed to himself he would never be hurt again because he would never love. He leaves everything and everyone he ever knew behind him and begins a new life built on rules against love. But when fate brings him back to the place and people he left thirteen years ago, he learns there are some things he can’t escape.

He spent many years running from love only to find it was with him all along. When he accepts the truth he denied for so long, he realizes he can’t ignore love. He discovers there is more pain in denying it. Once he embraces the true feelings he has for Laken Bennett, everything changes for Gage. Love finds him, and he is holding on forever.”

My Review

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review as part of the book blog tour. This was the debut book by the author, and I think she did a great job.

Laken was the younger sister of Gage’s best friend. She had always had a crush on him when she was younger but was devastated when he left home at 18 to go to college and never came back. Thirteen years later when Gage comes back for his fathers funeral those same emotions are reignited again.

Gage always had a soft spot for Laken when she was a kid. He never really knew what those feelings were until years later though. Now that he is back home and sees the woman Laken has grown into, he can’t hold back those feelings anymore.

So I did enjoy this book, but there were a few things that kind of threw off the flow of the story for me and kept me from really connecting with the characters. One thing that threw me off was how formal the characters sounded. It just seemed tight and didn’t really flow for me. It could have been the editing and use of contractions, but there would be times the characters sounded normal, and then other times it would come off as stiff and formal. For me characters and the way they flow and speak is what connects me to them, and I just couldn’t connect as well with them. However, I really did enjoy the storyline and the HEA ending. The secondary characters were fun, especially Rainne and Ryan’s relationship. The tension between Ashe and Emerson was great too and will be a great starting point for the next book.

I think as a debut as a self published author this was a great first book and I look forward to seeing more from her. I know we will be seeing Ashe’s story (Laken’s brother) next, and I can’t wait to see what happens between him and Emerson.

My Rating: 3 stars

Goodreads Book Page: Holding on Forever

Author Website: Victoris Monroe

You can buy this book from Amazon here: Buy Holding on Forever here!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holding On Forever by Victoria Monroe

  1. victoriamonroeauthor says:

    Thank you for participating in the tour. I appreciate your review and feedback. I’m learning and it helps me. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

