Quirky Blind Date with a Book: September reads!

quirky-blind-dateSo at the beginning of this month I found this awesome facebook group. I don’t even remember how I found it. I think a reader in one of the groups I’m in posted a link to the August challenge or something. I really have no idea, but I saw it and it looked really interesting, so I clicked on it.

It was started by a woman named Amber that runs a blog called The Quirky Bibliophile. She got the idea from seeing a blind date with a book display in a store where the books were wrapped in paper and just a short blurb described the book. She decided it would be great to find a way to adapt this idea for the Kindle and indie author community and BEHOLD……… Quirky Blind Date with a Book was born! πŸ™‚

This is such an AWESOME idea for readers and authors alike!

Quirky Blind Date facebook group Β  Β  Β  October Blind Date sign up!

When you sign up to participate in Blind Date with a book you fill out a form. On the form there will be a list of blurbs that are a sentence or two long, and you pick the one that sounds most interesting to you. Then you get a FREE copy of the book sent to your kindle from the author.

The only thing that is required of you when you sign up, is you have to fill out a review form by the end of that month for whatever book you get. The review forms are then sent to authors so they get honest feedback on their books. These review forms are completely anonymous! Which I think is awesome and I feel really helps readers to feel comfortable giving honest feedback if they didn’t like something about the book. PLUS when you fill out a form you get entered into a drawing for a prize at the end of the month πŸ™‚

Reasons it’s great for readers: You get a free e-book, you get to experience a new book or author you might have never come across on your own, you might get a different genre of book you’ve never read before.

Reasons it’s great for authors: It’s a great way to expand your reader base, especially if you’re an indie author. It gives you honest feedback for every book given out to the blind date that month. It’s a new way to connect with readers on the quirky blind date group.

My review of Quirky Blind Date with a Book and the books I read for September

When I filled out the form for September it was quick and easy. The only hard part was trying to decide what book I wanted to select, but they sounded so good, I signed up for two of them. (You can sign up for multiple books after you have successfully turned in a review form the first month you participate)

Once I got the books I read them both and filed out the review form. The review form was easy to fill out and understand. It was just basic questions of what you liked about the book, what you didn’t. What did you think about the characters, who you did and didn’t like, etc…etc… I think each form took me about 10-15 min, but that’s because I wrote a lot of feedback for each question. I especially love how your feedback does get back to the author, but it’s kept anonymous, for readers that might not be comfortable giving negative feedback directly to an author.

The two books I received for the month of September were Descent by Sloane Murphy, and Destiny Rocked by Kacey Hamford.

The only issue I saw once I joined the group were some people didn’t receive books for September that signed up, but after they contacted the group it got fixed. QBDwaB is a very new thing, and it’s going to have kinks to work out on the way to awesomeness.

All in all I think the Quirky Blind Date with a Book is amazing! The girl that runs it has worked her tail off to make a great experience for readers and authors alike! I’ve heard she already has a list of authors that want to participate in the future πŸ™‚

Reviews for my Blind Dates πŸ˜‰

decsent

Overall I thought this was a pretty good book. I normally don’t read a lot of paranormal books with Vampyrs,and fae, but this turned out to be a good read that I enjoyed.

Addy was a strong heroine, and I really liked how fiercely protective of her friends she was. She could kick ass and take names, and she could give the non humans a run for their money even though they were so much stronger than she was.

Xander from the description, was the main guy character, but he didn’t have a huge role in this book. He had a few chapters in his POV, but when Addy was captured he was out of the picture mostly. I didn’t like him as much as I liked some of the other side characters (Like Michael……. I LOVED Michael). Also the whole connection between him and Addy was weird for me (you will see how it plays out in the book)

This book ended on a HUGE cliff hanger, and I really want to know what happens next!

My Rating: 4 stars

destiny-rocked

This was your typical best friends to lovers romance with a rock star twist. Not really anything I haven’t read before. The writing was decent, but I just couldn’t connect with the characters very much.

Scarlett is a famous singer, Ash is her security guard, but he’s been her best friend since they were kids. Their parents were in the same rock band together back in the day. Scarlett I found to be a little annoying during some parts of the book. I liked Ash.

The plot twist you could see coming from a mile away. I wish hints weren’t dropped as hard during the book in order for there to have been more of a surprise to it.

The only other thing I really didn’t like, and it’s probably just me, I hate when authors use real bands or real people interacting with the characters in their books. To me personally, it just makes the book into more of a fanfiction type feel. That’s just my own personal pet peeve though, and other people may love it.

My Rating: 3 stars

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

