Six of Hearts and Hearts of Fire by L. H. Cosway

six-of-heartscoverhearts-of-fire-cover

So this week I have declared it L. H. Cosway week! I am participating in the release of Thief of Hearts, her newest book releasing Oct 4th, which is the 5th book in the series, and because I’m me I wanted to go back and read the WHOLE series again! (Since it’s been over a year since I last read them) Sooooooo……… here is my reviews for Six of Hearts, Hearts of Fire, and her short story Macabre Magic. I’m going to include my favorite teaser pics I have found off of her author page too.

Six of Hearts

This book was absolutely fantastic! Have you ever read a book where it just sucks you in, and the whole book plays out like a movie in your head and you can just visualize everything? Yeah……. that’s this book. It was completely mesmerizing! Here’s the goodreads description:

“I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.
I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.
Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.
But most of all, I put on a good show.
The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.
Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.
She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this–if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.
So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.
You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.
I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.
So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.”

I can’t express how much I loved this book! It reminded me of the movie Now You See Me. The characters were so well thought out, and the way she wrote the dialogue made them feel so real, like you were standing next to them listening to their conversation. Jay’s character was funny, sexy, and mysterious, and they way he performs his illusions was really entertaining. I loved the slow build up between Jay and Matilda. The entire book just kept me entertained, interested, and wanting more. Some of my favorite scenes were just of Jay and Matilda bantering back and forth with each other and joking around. The relationship between them was just so real and genuine. This is a book I’d read over and over again.

Here are some of my favorite teaser graphics I found from her author page (some of them came from other book blogs and she posted them on her page)

six-of-heartssix-of-hearts-collagesix-of-hearts2

Hearts of Fire

I seriously don’t know if I love Six of Hearts or Hearts of Fire more. The MaCabe brothers are such phenomenal characters. The way they are written is just so lifelike, and I absolutely love how it’s based around the circus.

“My house burned down when I was just a boy, robbing me of both my parents.
Now I breathe fire, eat the poison that almost killed me.
Crowds come to see me night after night. Men for the spectacle, women for the thrill. I’m an oddity to be stared at and desired. With each flame I spit, I risk my life.
I wear scars on my body that will never go away, but the scars inside my head are far more difficult to overlook.
My brother doesn’t know me, and if I have it my way he never will.
Life was going exactly the way I’d planned until Lille came along. She wanted to run away with the circus, have an adventure, but this world was never meant for her.

I try to keep her safe, because she doesn’t know the dangers that are out here on the road. She doesn’t know the monsters that lurk behind the bright lights of the ring. In truth, I could be considered one of them.
We were fashioned from different cloths, never intended to mix. So I watch her. I try not to touch, even when her eyes invite me.
Join us in the Spiegeltent and let us give you a show. Allow my Lille to draw a picture for you in paint and sweat and skin.
The truest love is always the hardest to let in.”

My favorite thing about this book is the setting, and how well Cosway developed her world within the circus. She has a way or writing that makes it seem like a movie is playing through your head while you read, like your right inside the scene. I loved Lille. She is so innocent and caring, and the way she builds into the relationship with Jack was sweet and oh so sexy. I’ve gotta say, this book was hot! Jack was such a broody, grumpy guy, but when Lille starts to break him out of his shell we see this strong caring man that will do anything for the woman he loves. Plus his fire breathing act…….. wow! This book had me addicted, and then you add in Jack and Matilda later on in the book…….. It was amazing! The side characters were so much fun too. I loved Lola and Violet, and Marina. The circus as a whole was just a fun thing to read about. This is definitely a book I will read over and over again!

Here are some of my favorite Hearts of Fire teaser graphics I found on the authors facebook page 🙂

jack-teaserlille-teaser

hearts-of-fire-3

Macabre Magic

macabre-magic-cover

Macabre Magic was a really short Novella taking place after Six of Hearts. It’s short and cute. Jack makes a bet with Matilda that he can scare her for Halloween. I loved the banter between Jay and Matilda. They are adorable as always. I really wish she would do a little novella like this for Jack and Lille 🙂

Tomorrow………. onto King of Hearts and Hearts of Blue!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.