Keepsake by Sarina Bowen

keepsake-banner

This is the third book in the True North series, and I have had the privilege to be an ARC reviewer/reader for all three of them, and it has been an amazing experience to watch this series grow! I loved Bittersweet, and then I fell in love with Jude and Sophie in Steadfast, but oh man………. Zach and Lark……… THIS is the best book of the series! I cannot express how much I loved this book! Once again Sarina Bowen has blown my mind!

Add to your Goodreads   Buy on Amazon

Book Description

There’s a first time for everything.

Lark Wainwright used to be fearless. Her life was a series of adventures, each one more exhilarating than the last. But her recent overseas adventure was one too many. Now she’s home and in one piece. Mostly. But her nights are filled with terror.

When her best friend offers her a stay at the orchard in exchange for help at the farmers’ markets, Lark jumps at the chance to spend fall in Vermont. But her nightmares don’t stop. Desperate to keep her fragile state a secret, she relies on the most soft-spoken resident of the Shipley Farm to soothe her when her dreams prove too much.

Zachariah is a survivor, too. It’s been four years since he was tossed aside by the polygamist cult where he grew up. He’s found a peaceful existence on the Shipley’s farm, picking apples and fixing machinery. But getting thrown away by your own people at nineteen leaves a mark on a guy. He doesn’t always know what to make of a world where movie quotes are the primary means of communication. Before hitchhiking to Vermont, he’d never watched TV or spoken on the phone.

Actually, there are a lot of things he’s never done.

Zach and Lark slowly grow to trust one another. One night they become even closer than they’d planned. But Lark may still be too broken to trust anyone. When she pushes Zach away, he will have to prove to himself that he’s good for much more than farm labor.

keepsake-teaser-2

My Review

This book was absolutely amazing. I’ve been waiting for Zach’s story since I read Bittersweet, and this did not disappoint. I think this might have become my favorite Sarina Bowen book, and I’ve read ALL of hers besides Rookie Move (Which is on my list to read next month 😉 The story was just sweet, sexy, and heartwarming. It broke my heart a few times and stitched it back up.

Zach isn’t your normal male protagonist. He’s not an Alpha male. He’s shy and sweet. He’s introverted and soft spoken. He doesn’t trust easily, and he lacks self confidence because of his upbringing, but that is what really made me fall in love with his character! He is more unique than any other male character I have read, and I loved that!

When Lark comes to the farm to try and get away from her demons, she becomes friends with Zach, and he helps her to get through her terror ridden nights. She used to be fearless, the Wild Child, but now she can barely function throughout her day. The relationship between her and Zach is slow and sweet. I loved watching their relationship form and go through the ups and downs. I think one of my favorite lines was “I’ll be your Apostate Farm.” I know you can’t really understand the context of this one yet, but when you read Keepsake you will understand, and you will fall in love with this couple like I did 🙂

Some of my other favorite things about this book were the references to some of my favorite movies and books. Any book that talks about Harry Potter and Star Wars is fan-freaking-tastic in my opinion! I loved how we got to see The Shipley family again, and Griff and Jude. I also loved Maeve, she was the cutest little girl and I loved her interactions with everyone.

This was seriously an amazing book. As usual Sarina Bowen creates a story that draws you in and connects you to the characters on such a deeper level. You always feel a part of the book, and I always feel like a movie is playing in my head when I read her books. I’m always sad when her books are over because I have to leave that world. This series is one I will read over and over again through the years.

I highly recommend this book and this series. It won’t disappoint.

My Rating: 5 STARS!!!!!!

keepsake-teaser

Connect with the Author

10367822_508571519264685_8692674331163911433_n

Facebook   Website   Twitter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

