Quirky Blind Date with a Book October Reads!

quirky-blind-date

So as many of you might know, I’ve been participating in the Quirky Blind date with a Book since September. I’m on my 3rd month so far and I have LOVED it! Amber has done an amazing job of bringing authors and readers together, and helping people to step out of their reading comfort zones and try something new. This month was the first month I had a book totally out of my normal reading style, and it actually became my favorite book of the month 🙂

Quirky Blind Date with a Book is FREE to join! Each month they post a form where you can select a book by choosing a short blurb that describes the book. When the month starts, books are sent out (mostly through kindle) and you get a FREE book to read! All you have to do is fill out a review form by the end of the month to anonymously give authors feedback on their books! It’s simple! (Quirky Blind Date runs through a facebook group, so you’ll have to join the group to join in the fun 😉

Quirky Blind Date Facebook Group!   Decembers sign up form!

This month I had 5 books I read through Quirky Blind Date 🙂

dissidentDissident by Cecilia London

This was the book that was way out of my normal reading genre, and I absolutely LOVED it!!! It’s a political romance based in a dystopian America!

The first chapter grabbed me and sucked me in, and I was hooked! If you aren’t into politics it might get a little dry in some spots throughout the book, but the underlying storyline is excellent! The only problem I had with it was there was way too much of sex. I ended up skipping some scenes to get back to the story, but like I said, the storyline is excellent, so well worth it.

Fair warning: it ends with a cliffhanger. There is a total of 6 book in the Bellator Saga. 5 books are out now and the 6th book will be coming early next year. (Of course I had to read all the rest of the books when I was done with this one and I read all 5 in about a week) It was addicting and I highly recommend the series!

Rating: 4 stars!

Links: Goodreads   Amazon   Cecilia London’s facebook

Other Books in this series

Book #2: Conscience   Book #3 Sojourn  Book#4 Phoenix  Book#5 Rhapsody

Making it Through.jpg

Making it Through by Erin Cristofoli

This was a great read, I loved the characters and I loved the story. This was one of those books that was just a roller-coaster of emotions.

Mady went through a heartbreaking tragedy, and she deals with it by pushing people away. When she meets Max he slowly teaches how to live again.

I highly recommend this one 🙂

Rating: 4 star

Links: Goodreads  Amazon  Erin’s Facebook Page

tainted-deception

Tainted Deception by Aleya Michelle

This book had a GREAT concept, but overall it just fell a little short for me, but there were a ton of people who loved this one. It’s definitely worth a read 🙂 I will be looking for other books by this author!

Chase is a billionaire CEO by day but a hardcore rocker by night. When he falls in love with Ivy, can he finally reveal his secrets to her without her running?

Rating: 3 stars

Links: Goodreads   Amazon  Aleya’s facebook page

under-the-surface

Under the Surface by Jaye Cox

This is the second book of the series. It was a pretty good book. I had mixed feelings about the characters, but the story was good. I really enjoyed the ending though.

Rating: 3 stars

Links: Goodreads  Amazon  Jaye’s Facebook page

Other Books in this series:

Book #1: Unexpected Consequences

leaving-eva

Leaving Eva by Jennifer Sivic

This one was a miss for me. It’s a very emotional story about a woman dealing with her past and moving on so she can embrace her future and the man that she loves. There are triggers for abuse and drug use.

Rating: 2 stars

Links: Goodreads  Amazon  Jennifer’s Facebook Page

Other books in this series

Losing Eva  Saving Eva

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

