Love on the Malecon by Aubrey Parr

graphic

Add to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Book Description

In the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta, there is a magical oceanfront promenade known as the Malecon.

As a tribute to her father’s life, Nicole James travels to his favorite place on Earth. On the cobblestone streets of charming Puerto Vallarta, she meets Derek, an ex-MMA fighter who invested his winnings into land for luxury hotels. Derek is fabulously wealthy, aging like fine wine, and lives on resorts like an endless vacation. Could her father have orchestrated this chance meeting with Mr. Right from beyond the grave?

Derek Stone never thought a woman would fit into the world he created, until Nicole came along. She’s beautiful, smart, and sexy. More importantly, she has no idea of his money. Derek has taken care of himself for his entire life. He’s not used to trusting anyone. Can he tear down his walls and let Nicole inside?

teaser-1

My Review

This story looked really intriguing when I first read the description, and for the first part of the book I really enjoyed it, but the 2nd part of the book fell short for me and there were some character flaws that I just couldn’t get past. However I enjoyed the way the writer described settings and scenes throughout the book.

The book was set in Puerto Vallerta, and when Aubrey Parr would describe the hotels,or restaurants, or the Malecon, I could visualize and picture it in my head. The cover of the book was a big draw too and one of things that drew me into wanting to read it. Derek was a great character and I really enjoyed his back story and the way he loved Nicole, however I didn’t enjoy Nicole’s character as much. I loved how she went to Puerto Vallerta in honor of her father and how meaningful visiting the various places were to her, but she just had too many character flaws for me to really connect with her. One main issue being the “maybe boyfriend”.

*SPOILER* Don’t go sleeping with a new guy when you haven’t actually broken things off with your “maybe boyfriend”. If you’ve been dating the dude for 3 years, and you have a fight and you aren’t sure where things stand, even if you’re mad at him, the least you could do is break it off before getting “intimate” with a new love interest. Plus when he comes and talks to her, she won’t even talk to him, she lets Derek do it. Cheating is one of my biggest pet peeves in romances, and the way the character handled it in this book really turned me off of the story.

Overall this was a good story, but I had a lot of issues with some parts of it. I did however enjoy the writing style of the author and look forward to reading more from her.

My Rating: 3 Stars

teaser-2

About the Author

Goodreads Author Page   Amazon Author Page

Twitter @AubreyParrBooks   Author Facebook Page

teaser-3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love on the Malecon by Aubrey Parr

Leave a Reply

