Triumph by Cecilia London

 

bellator-saga-series-banner

I found Cecilia London through Quirky Blind Date last year when Dissident (Book #1 of the Bellator Saga) was one of my books. When I read the description after receiving it I was pretty leery, a political romance just didn’t spark my interest, BUT after I read the first few pages I was completely HOOKED! As soon as I finished book 1 I tore through books 2-5 in a few days. When I found out Triumph was releasing I knew I had to get in on this one!

This book completely blew me away and was by far my favorite of the series! I am SO glad that I found Cecilia London through Quirky Blind Date! I know it was a hit or miss with some of our readers (The American politics can be confusing to people that don’t live here) and some couldn’t get into it, but this series has been one of my absolute favorites that I have found through our group 🙂

Add to your Goodreads   Get Triumph on Amazon

triumph-now-live-fb

Book Description

“All of your ideals, your hopes and dreams…they cease to matter if you abandon them in your darkest hour. We have to see this through to the end.”

Jack McIntyre and Caroline Gerard have never shied away from a challenge. As dual commanders of the American rebel forces, they now face the greatest adversity of their lives. Every decision has permanent consequences. Relationships are tested and restored. Hard truths come to light. When the reality of their situation finally hits them, there is one thing they know for certain.

No sacrifice is too great for love.

release-day-2

My Review

This book is definitely my absolute favorite one of the series! Cecilia London completely outdid herself on this one! You can tell how the current events of American Politics affected her writing of this last book, and it’s probably one of my favorite things about it. It’s a little unsettling the similarities between the government in the Bellator Saga and the current state of our government with the newly elected president (which is interesting, because at least 4 of the books had already been published before all the election craziness of 2016 hit). If you follow current news, you can definitely see the jabs and nuances aimed toward our current system, and it really scares the crap out of me how accurate the similarities are!

Jack and Caroline’s story was a complete whirlwind of emotions throughout the series, and in Triumph I felt even more connected to them. I don’t want to give away certain characters we see again, but when these characters come back in it was just a heartwarming reunion and I loved the way they had grown throughout that time. Cecilia London created such an amazing cast of characters and that was one of things I loved best about the series.

I normally never remember to highlight quotes as I’m reading, but there were a few from Triumph that really spoke to me, so I will share them with you. They are long, but the way she writes about America, and never giving up, and the diversity of our people just floored me. It was like I was standing at a protest listening to her speak and wanting to get up and fight alongside all of her characters.

“People never really think about the last time they are going to have sex with someone,” she said. “The last time they’re going to kiss them goodbye. The last time they;ll hear the other person’s voice. We take our relationships, our spouses, our partners for granted until one day, poof, it’s over. Maybe if we’d all be a little better off if we lived each day as if it might be the last.” 

“Democracy was messy. Difficult. Frustrating. And America had always been imperfect. A song in search of the perfect note when so often the melody went flat. Its grand ideals had often been sacrificed at the alter of avarice, greed, and self-interest, but somehow its citizens kept going. Believing in that dream. Believing the shining city on the hill could actually be built. Believing despite its flaws, despite it’s errors, despite its injustices and inequalities, the great American experiment would find its way home.”

It’s not about choices. Democracy is the lifeblood of America. And you believe in the system, enough to defend it down to your very last breath. All of your ideals, your hopes and dreams… they cease to matter if you abandon them in your darkest hour. We have to see this through to the end.”

“American exceptionalism has never been what people like Santos and his cronies wanted it to be. It wasn’t about ‘othering,’ about scapegoating and discord and trampling over others to get to the top. It was the beauty of our diversity, the power of community, the love radiating from neighbors and friends whenever a moment of crisis arrived. Our ability to find consensus in a sea of disagreement. Our empathy and willingness to say, ‘Teach me. I don’t understand but I’m willing to learn.’ We’ve lost that and we need to get it back. But the America described by so many brilliant artists –the unfinished symphony, the beacon of light, that great promise of freedom and democracy –we can’t let go of that. It’s greater than itself. It can be achieved if good people are willing to stand up for what’s right.”

Also there was a part where President Santos (the villain of the story) calls Caroline a “Nasty Woman” I just burst out laughing at that, as well as a part where she references twitter rants and someone said “you need to stop expecting unreasonable people to act reasonably.”

This whole story was just so well written, and these characters just felt so real. I hope that she writes a spin off of the series with some of the other characters, because I’m not ready to let these guys go yet.

Give this book a chance, even if your kind of on the edge about all the political aspect, the story was just amazing and well worth the read!

Also on a side note, one of the things I didn’t like as much about the series was just too many sex scenes strewn throughout the books, however the scenes in this book fit so well, and they weren’t overdone, they were beautiful. Two people finding their way back to each other after they have gone through so much physical and emotional pain throughout their journey and coming together learning to trust and love one another again. It was beautifully done.

My Rating: 5 stars!!!!

release-day-1

Links to the Author

Facebook Author Page   Twitter @authorclondon    Website

Amazon Author Page   Goodreads Author Page

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

