Shifter’s Hope by Laura Hawks

madtown

Laura Hawks is one of the authors that is taking part in Madtown Author Daze! You can meet her on April 15th in Madison WI at the Museum of Contemporary Art!

14233556_10157378268970576_78504355_o

Add Shifter’s Hope to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Book Description

Shy and timid Hope Landers is praying not to be discovered as she runs from an abusive relationship. She doesn’t realize the man who is about to enter her life keeps a secret far worse than she can imagine. This secret will dispel every belief she has ever held and could ultimately end her life.

Raven Stillwater, an Ojibwa Native condemned to death by his tribe, has remained close to his ancestral home. Trying against all odds that he will find a way to clear his name and thereby lift his sentence. Then he sees Hope and realizes he has an opportunity to correct a mistake he made years ago by letting her walk away. He would follow her anywhere even if it means leaving the protection of the only home he has known for centuries. However in order to be with her, this woman who has occupied his every waking thought and dreams, he will have put her directly into the cross hairs of his tribe eliminating not only himself but Hope as well. Can they survive the secret the tribe will kill to protect?

My Review

This was a really interesting read, and I loved the history and folklore woven throughout the story. You can tell from the writing that this author has done a lot of research and is very passionate about the subject matter. All of the main characters and side characters were very detailed, as well as the settings and scenes. There were some awesome twists throughout the story that I didn’t see coming, and I loved the ending.

I liked Raven’s character and how his story was told through flashbacks, but the only trouble with the flashbacks is the timeline of the story could get confusing because it jumped around a lot from present to different times in the past. I found that I had to stop and go back a few pages or a chapter or two sometimes to remind myself what time period we were in before the flashback. Sometimes it would jump from present to past and stay in the past through to the next chapter, or go from past to another time in the past. However I really enjoyed all of the history we learn about Raven’s tribe, and about how the area changed through time. I loved his dedication to Hope, and loved the spiritual bond they created together. It was an intense and great love they shared and I’m interested to see where the next book takes us. Hope was a strong heroine, especially when she never gave up and eventually was able to escape from her abusive husband. The only thing I didn’t like about their relationship was in the beginning Raven expected her to just trust him and let him into her life, even though he had followed her from Canada to Chicago. That was a little weird for me, but by the middle of the story their relationship took off for me.

The one major issue I had with this book was editing issues. There were a lot of them, and this was a final edit of the book. It got to the point where I’d be reading, and the errors would just take me out of the story and threw the entire flow of the book off for me. I think if it had been edited differently I would have been able to connect to the story more than I had originally.

All in all the was an entertaining read and I am looking forward to the next book in the series!

About the Author

bedtime21

Goodreads Author Page   Amazon Author Page

Website   Facebook Author Page   Twitter @AuthorLHawks

shiftershopealt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shifter’s Hope by Laura Hawks

  1. Laura Hawks says:

    Fyi..the book is being re edited as we speak and it will also have a new cover. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  2. katdefalla says:

    Thanks for the review – I look forward to reading this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

