Soar by Sloane Murphy

Release Day banner

I first found Sloane Murphy through Quirky Blind Date with a Book when I read Descent as one of my books that month. I absolutely loved it and couldn’t wait to get my hands on more. Now we are at the 3rd book of the Immortal Chronicles Series. Sloane is an amazing author and I can’t wait to read more from her.

Add Soar to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Soar Teaser 1

Book Description

There is only so much one person can endure before they break.

There was nothing I ever wanted less than to be Princess at the Royal Court. After devastation rocked my whole world, the return of my mother doesn’t seem like the dream it was supposed to be.

I know how to be a warrior. I have no idea how to be a princess…

With her whole world turned upside down, and her heart still broken, who will Addie be at the end of it all?

Hearts can break, faith can plummet, but souls can Soar.

Soar Teaser 3

My Review

I was super excited for Soar. Crash had a big cliffhanger ending and I was dying to know what happened, but Soar was a major let down for me. I have been reading this series since Descent came out, and I have loved it all. The world that Sloane Murphy built for this series is amazing, as well as character development and backstories, however Soar just missed the mark for me and I was really disappointed with the storyline and where she took Addie’s character. In all honesty I was pretty angry after reading this one.

I will try not to reveal spoilers as I try to tell you why this installment didn’t pan out for me. In this series we have a character (Addie) that seriously kicks ass and takes names. She’s fierce and feisty, she’s a strong fighter, and she’s half fae, half fallen. She’s unique and independent and I have loved her character. In Soar, we take this independent and unique character and turn her into a dainty princess that everyone has to protect and fawn over. She is forced into an arranged marriage situation and at first she’s like “This is never going to happen, no way” to “oh…. well, I guess if you insist I have to then I have to.”It’s like she just rolled over. I know there were reasons behind her “doing what she’s told” but the Addie I thought I knew wouldn’t have taken it like that, especially after what had happened with Xander. Also the whole suitors having to woo her for her hand in marriage just annoyed me. It was definitely not the storyline I was expecting and I was really disappointed.

Also at the beginning we get a lot of point of view from Kaden, and then about 1/4 of the way through he just disappears and the rest of the book is all from Addie’s point of view. I know we will probably see what happened behind the scenes with Kaden in Rapture, but a big reason I liked the other books was getting to see all the varying points of view throughout the story.

There were a few redeeming qualities to Soar however. Sofie was such an amazingly sweet character, and the way Addie first meets Sofie and stands up to for her was amazing. THIS is what I wish we saw for the whole marriage arrangement thing, this kind of emotion and action. Dante was a great character too, even though he was one of the suitors. Naoki was interesting and I liked the fight scene with him. The writing was amazing as always, as well as scene descriptions and character descriptions.

The ending…. I knew what was going to happen (or at least what would happen with a certain character) but the way it panned out just made me angry.

All in all I will probably read this one over again when Rapture comes out just because I always read the series over when a new book is releasing, but I really didn’t enjoy it.

Soar Teaser 2

About the Author

By day, Sloane Murphy works full time as an account manager and by night writes escapism in the form of Paranormal Romance, all while looking after her fur baby & Mr M. She was born and raised in England along with 2 sisters, 2 brothers and a plethora of cousins, and comes from a REALLY big family!

Sloane is currently working on the Immortal Chronicles series, alongside some other Top Secret projects too. She likes to be busy – unless busy involves doing the dishes, but that seems to be when all the ideas come to life.

Facebook Author Page   Goodreads Author Page   Website

Amazon Author Page   Twitter @author_sloanem

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

