Reclaiming His Life by K. L. Myers

Reclaiming His Life Banner

I found K. L. Myers through The Hype PR when Reawakening His Heart released and I signed up to review it. I absolutely fell in love with those characters and have been looking forward to reading her second book Reclaiming His Life about Braedyn’s brother Gauge.

Add Reclaiming His Life to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Book Description

T.R.O.U.B.L.E.

The seven letters that sum up my existence.

I thought I was indestructible, a Badass of the highest level, but reality knocked me down a peg, more like a thousand pegs.

Now, here I am years later trying to put my life together again.

I’ve been given a fresh start and what I do with it is all on me.

RHL Teaser 2

My Review

I knew going into this book that Gauge would be an unique character with a dark past. I was excited to hear what his backstory was and how he landed himself in jail when we hear about him in the first book, Reawakening His Heart.

I don’t want to say too much about his story, because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say his career and then what landed him in jail was really interesting. When he gets out, he becomes a bouncer at a strip club where he meets Lex. When the FBI comes looking for her, he has to decide if he’s up to protecting her from the people out to get her.

In all honesty, this book wasn’t my cup of tea. I did like some aspects of the book, but there was a lot that I didn’t like. One thing that really put me off was the relationship between Gauge and Lex. When he first meets her, she’s pretty much his fuck buddy. She’s not even mentioned until the FBI shows up, and you find out he’s known her for a few weeks already. To me, it just felt like she wasn’t important enough for him to mention until she’s “in danger”. The connection to the characters just wasn’t there for me, and so I wasn’t really invested in their relationship emotionally. One other major thing I didn’t enjoy was there were too many sex scenes. Normally 4-5 is a good number for me if they are placed right and flow with the story. This one had at least 6 that I can remember and a lot more that I skimmed through. The previous book had a lot as well, but because I connected to those characters more than I did these it just didn’t work for me. Also just a warning, there is kink and bondage in this book, as well as multiple partner sex.

All in all I would recommend this book to some people, but not all. It all depends on your taste in books. I did enjoy parts of the book, and liked the back story of the characters, and I absolutely loved the ending and epilogue. The writings style was great and I can’t wait to read more from K. L. Myers. The next story is going to be about Jaxon, and I am definitely looking forward to hear what happens to him and his family! (Something happens to them in this book and we will have to see how it turns out in the next book!)

RHL Teaser

About the Author

author photo

Goodreads Author Page   Amazon Author Page   Website

Facebook Author Page   Twitter @authorklmyers

KL Myers was born in West Berlin Germany at Tempelhof AFB, an Air force brat that dislikes beer but loves PEZZ dispensers. Landing in Aurora, CO, where her Father retired in 1974, she spent eight years enjoying the wonderful mountain scenery and cool air, she then relocated to “hell” aka Phoenix, Arizona, where she currently resides with her husband David, 3 cats and a dog. They have 2 daughters and 3 grandchildren, close by to keep them busy on the dull hot desert nights.

For KL balancing an Executive job, family, and writing is all part of the change and adaptation she learned growing up in the Military.

Still a brat…but inspired by her many author friends, KL has branched out into writing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

