Flying Mutant Zombie Rats by Kat De Falla

madtown

I first met Kat at the Badger State Author event last August. I had been a brand new blogger, it was my first book event, and Kat was one the first authors I approached with my lil business cards and timidly told her about my blog. She totally gave me a signed copy of her book, First Contact, and we talked for awhile. After the event I reviewed her book and from there we kept in touch. Last fall she messaged me and invited me to become the Official Blogger for Madtown Author Daze! I was completely floored! This author was giving my little blog a chance at reviewing for her event! Now the event is just around the corner and I am SO excited to be a part of it 🙂 So thank you Kat for being awesome!

Add Flying Mutant Zombie Rats to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

FMZR cover

Book Description

Summer vacation is almost here! And Pea O’Neil is stoked to try out the new local BMX track which is finally open. He and his gang of friends can ride all summer long!

But when Pea tries a back flip, he unwittingly opens a portal to another dimension and hordes of flying mutant zombie rats are unleashed upon the city. With the help of an otherworldly talking cat sent to help prevent the demise of humankind, Pea and his friends must hunt down the hungry mutants and send them back before the portal closes.

But when the zombie rats attack a neighbor man, the boys have to enlist the help of a graveyard looney and the city’s stray cats. With time running out, Pea and his gang track the monsters to the city’s sewer system. But in the city sewer of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, it’s eat…or get eaten.

My Review

This was a great kids book! It totally reminded me of when I would read Goosebumps as a kid. It was a quick and easy read and would be great for middle school aged kids! (And I’m a big kid at heart, so I loved it 😉

The characters were fantastic. Pea and his friends Paco, Tad, Thad, and Jules were just awesome. I loved that Paco and Pea had each others backs all the time, and the whole crew of kids stood up for their friends and stood up to bullies. They would protect other kids they saw get picked on and I thought this was great. Another thing I thought was awesome is the fact that their idol was a girl named Maddie (aka Moto Maddie). The BMX park that was just opening was named after her and they idolized her and how she became a BMX legend in their town. I just found that really cool.

The whole storyline of the crazy flying mutant zombie rats was just quirky and fun. Especially when the cat Max showed up. Even though I’m an adult now, it took me back to when I was a kid and would read Goosebumps everyday and loved reading stuff like this. The climax was great, and the friendship between Paco and Pea really stood out to me during that end scene. The only thing I felt was lacking was the ending. It ended too quickly and I wish we had gotten to see a little bit more.

All in all this was a great kids book and I would definitely recommend it if you had a little girl or boy that loves crazy adventure stories!

About the Author

Facebook Author Page   Amazon Author Page   Twitter @katdefalla

Goodreads Author Page   Website

Kat was born and raised in Milwaukee, Wisconsin where she learned to roller skate, ride a banana seat bike, and love Shakespeare. She holds a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and is happily employed as a retail pharmacist. She is married to her soul mate, composer Lee de Falla and raising four kids together ala the Brady Bunch.

Bedtime

Kat deFalla

Kat and I at Badger State Author Event August 2016

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flying Mutant Zombie Rats by Kat De Falla

  1. katdefalla says:

    Thanks for the review…so happy you enjoyed it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

