Little White Lies by Sara Ackerman

madtown

Sara Ackerman is our next awesome Madtown Author! You can meet her on April 15th at the Museum of Contemporary Art from 11-4! Click here for more details about the event!

Historical romance is one sub genre that I hadn’t ventured into before this and I really enjoyed it 🙂

Add Little White Lies to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Little White Lies

Book Description

After a lie triggers a series of terrible events, Amelia Westby is cursed and must tell the truth no matter how unpleasant that truth may be. For years, she has been shunned by society for her blunt honesty, and she despairs of ever finding someone who can accept her for who she is. A chance encounter with a mysterious stranger offers her an escape from her black and white existence of life amidst London’s jaded ton, but when a secret threatens to destroy her happiness she must break her curse or lose the man she loves.

Upon learning of his brother’s death, Tavis McGuire returns from the continent to inherit the Earldom of Stanton. Problems abound for the new earl after he inherits and soon he finds himself quickly embroiled in a dangerous game of espionage to clear his family name and to save his estate. But when he runs into a beautiful woman who could be the key to unmasking known traitors, Tavis must decide if he will choose to honor his duty to his country or to follow his heart.

My Review

I really enjoyed this book. Normally I don’t like books that include an arranged marriage in the plot, but the way this one played out really surprised me and I loved how she escaped away with Tavis. It really showed that she was a strong heroine and won’t just bow to her parents will  to be married off.

The whole twist with the curse was really interesting, but I wish we had found out a little more about it. I know we will learn more in the next book, but I feel like a little more could have been explained in this first book to really understand the curse that Amelia and her sisters carry better. I found myself confused about what exactly the curse was and how it worked, and the way she deals with the curse towards the end seemed a little too easy with how it affected her earlier in the book, but the curse was an interesting point of the book.

I really liked the way that Tavis and Amelia meet for the first time. She was rebellious and out spoken and gave Tavis hell and I loved it. Their quick getaway and slow building relationship was really great, but the back and forth with Tavis’s actions seemed a little excessive. I just wanted him to figure out his emotions about Amelia a little bit quicker.

All in all this was a really great read and I enjoyed it. Looking forward to the next book of the series. I would definitely recommend 🙂

About the Author

Bedtime(4)

Facebook Author Page   Goodreads Author Page

Twitter @saraackerman  Website

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Little White Lies by Sara Ackerman

  1. S.E.A. says:

    I wanted to thank you again for reading Little White Lies and for beta-ing Silence is Golden. Because I think what you do is so cool, (helping out authors) I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. Check out my site for rules if you chose to participate. I’m looking forward to reading more of your book reviews! I always need a book to read! https://seackerman.com/2017/04/29/liebster-blog-award/

    Like

    • You’re welcome 🙂 yours was actually the first historical romance I’ve read, so thanks for giving me a copy to review and helping me step out of my comfort zone as well. A lot of the Madtown books had me reading out of my normal.

      And thank you so much! I just read the blog post for it! I will have to work on a post for it this week so I can come up with some good answers and questions!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

