Don’t Act Like Prey! A Guide to Self Leadership for Women by Susan Farrell, MBA

madtown

Susan Farrell is our next Madtown author! You can meet her at Madtown Author Daze at the Madison Museum of Contemporary Art!

Don’t Act Like Prey isn’t a book I would normally pick up, but after the first chapter I was intrigued with how the themes from this book correlated with training methods I use with my horses and how I interact with them. It was fascinating and now I want to pick Susan’s brain when I get to Madtown 😉

Add Don’t Act Like Prey! to your Goodreads   Get it on Amazon

Don't Act Like Prey

Book Description

Our professional and personal success depends upon our being assertive. We must stand up and speak out for ourselves. If we are passive, we will never achieve our goals and the success we desire. If we are aggressive, we will damage our professional and personal relationships.

This book provides a new perspective on assertiveness. You will discover the costs of being passive, the costs of being aggressive, the benefits of being assertive, and how to find the delicate balance of assertiveness.

My Review

This was a really interesting read. The theme of the book is about the differences between being passive, being aggressive, and being assertive in situations throughout your life. By understanding how you interact with different people it can help you understand how to react in a different manner and become more assertive.

The one thing that jumped out at me when I started reading this is how it correlated to my personal life and how I train my horses. I’ve heard all of this information before, just in a different format from riding instructors I have worked with throughout my life. With horses you build a relationship, and you need to become their leader. You can’t be too passive and let them walk all over you, because it can be dangerous. You can’t be too aggressive because it can either cause the horse to become angry and put you in a dangerous situation or it can break their spirit. You need to be assertive. Learning to find the middle ground between the two and build a strong relationship with that animal so that they want to work with you.

Even though this probably wasn’t the intention of the book, it really made me think about how being assertive can effect all interactions throughout your life.

The only issue I had with the book is it was a little too short. I would have loved to see a little bit more. Otherwise this is a quick read with some eye opening information. There are also worksheets you can fill out while you are reading to better understand some of the relationships you have with people and how you can improve them by becoming more assertive.

About the Author

Goodreads Author Page  Amazon Author Page   Twitter @Susan_L_Farrell

Facebook Author Page  Website

Susan writes (books, blogs, and a newsletter) and speaks (presentations, YouTube videos, and a DVD) on self leadership for women. She uses her experiences as a corporate executive director, consultant, and business owner to provide ideas to encourage women to think about what they do, why they do it, and do they want to change.

Bedtime(6)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

