Behind the Wall by Jane Harvey Berrick

BTW release day

Jane Harvey Berrick has become one of my favorite writers, and the main reason for this is because of how she handles and writes her characters. They are so unique in different ways, and I always feel such a deep connection to them when I am reading one of her stories. Behind the Wall is her newest release. It was originally in an anthology and was much shorter, and now it is being re-released with added scenes and chapters! I hadn’t read this one when it was in the anthology, but I am so happy I had the chance to read it now!

Also…… just a fangirl moment…… I totally got a mention in the Thank You’s in the acknowledgements!!!! *squee* My day was completely made when I finished the book and saw that!!!! Jane you made one blogger the happiest person ever! Thank you!

IMG_3055

Book Description

Prison.

The place where dreams fade and hope dies.

That’s what it’s meant for the five years that Garrett has been behind bars. But now hope is on the horizon and he’s daring to dream again: small dreams, small hopes.

Getting his GED would be a start. If only his prison-appointed teacher Miss Ella Newsome wasn’t so damn sexy.

As Garrett and Ella start to play a dangerous game, the price could be higher than either of them have guessed.

IMG_3056

My Review

I know this story was originally part of an anthology, but I had never read it. I’m kind of glad I didn’t though because it totally would have left me wanting more!

This story completely sucked me in! The way Jane Harvey Berrick handles and writes all of her characters is nothing short of amazing. Even though this is a novella, characters were fully developed, and you could really establish a connection with them. In a lot of novellas I have read, the story is so short you just can’t connect to characters like you would in a full length book, but in Behind the Wall I FELT that connection!

This story is about a second chances, and realizing that you are worth being loved. Garrett is in jail and close to getting out on parole. Ella is his teacher for a class prepping him to get his GED. When Ella realizes through Garrett’s writing in class that there is more to him than just a hardened criminal, she realizes there is a connection between them.

I highly recommend this book. Jane Harvey Berrick didn’t disappoint. I seriously haven’t read a book by her I haven’t loved yet!

IMG_3057

About the Author

Goodreads Author Page  Amazon Author Page  Website

Twitter  Instagram  Facebook Author Page

“Writing is my passion and my obsession. I write every day and I love it. My head is full of stories and characters. I’ll never keep up with all my ideas!

I live in a small village by the ocean and walk my little dog, Pip, every day. It’s on those beachside walks that I have all my best ideas.

Writing has become a way of life – and one that I love to share.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

