Winner by Belle Brooks

amazon review tour_winner

I have been reading and reviewing for Belle Brooks since Thirty Days first came out, and I love how varied and different each book she writes is. You never know what you’re going to get going into a new Belle Brooks book. Winner is her newest release! Check it out!

Get Winner on Amazon   Add Winner to your Goodreads

20430001_1956264264641371_2591442938698898267_n

Book Description

Roselette Horton…
Miss Prim and Proper.
Arm candy for one of the richest men in Hoffman.
Fate had her saving my life. Now I’m indebted to repay the favour.
Rose has the biggest stick up her arse. It’s surprising she can even put one foot in front of the other. She has no clue what it means to be living, or who she really is. To the outside world Rose has everything, but to those who pay close attention, it’s nothing short of a well-constructed facade.

I’m Finlay Crossley and I’m a simple misfit from the wrong side of the tracks.
Until three days ago, I didn’t have two cents to rub together.
Rose is my opposite in every way, but as the saying goes—‘opposites attract.’

How in the world does a socialite notice a nobody like me?
It all happens when a loser becomes a winner.

Winner Teaser 3

My Review

At first when I started this book I absolutely loved it! Then 1/4 of the way through it just lost it’s spark. I did enjoy the ending though, and the writing style was great.

At first, I thought Finlay was an amazing character. He was hard working, and caring and protective of those he deemed his family. However, when he became a peeping tom on multiple occasions watching Rose, I just lost respect for his character. Yes, he was confronted about it, and the issue was resolved somewhat, but that just completely changed my vision of his character and something that truely bothered me.

Rose at first was a great character, until we see how her life really is. She is completely walked all over, can’t stand up for herself, and I just couldn’t stand her high society life and how everything had to be about appearance. In the end when she finally discovers her true self, I really liked her character, but 75% of the book, to me, she just felt like a weak heroine.

The side characters were fabulous! I loved all of Finlay’s friends, especially Alan, the boy he takes care of after his parents abandon him. Tessa is a wonderful character as well, and I really loved how spunky and feisty she was. I would love to see a story about Alan someday.

All around the story started great, and just didn’t pan out for me. The ending left me wanting more. It just didn’t feel resolved. The writing style was great, and as always I’m looking forward to reading more from her in the future.

Connect with the Author

Amazon Author Page   Goodreads Author Page    Twitter

Facebook Author Page    Twitter    Website

Born in Australia, Belle Brooks has always had a passion for books and creative writing. She loves exploring the different ways stories can be told through the use of text and in-depth characters. Since she was a child her strong talent and interest in creative writing was evident, explaining that her favorite class in school was English. Despite her love for all things books, she decided the world of advertising and marketing was where she could put her talents to use in the business realm, well that is until now. Belle enjoys creative writing and creating fictional stories that leave a valued message inside the pages.

Expect the unexpected.

profile-picture-belle-brooks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

